Meet the team

Ferenc Darvas PhD, President and Founder

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is ferenc_darvas.jpg

The single living person in Hungary awarded as a Fellow of the American Chemical Society, serial innovator and entrepreneur with multidisciplinary technical background and decades long business experience. Holder of many awards including the Order of Merit of the Hungarian Republic. Dr. Darvas received his first degree in organic chemistry and two other degrees in computer science and patent law. His PhD. was dealing with the use of artificial intelligence in drug discovery in 1986. Dr. Darvas pioneered in adapting microfluidics and flow technologies for producing nanoparticles in the early 2000’s. He is author of over 200 publications, editor or co-editor of several books, and inventor of over 100 patents. Dr. Darvas is also the founder of the Space Chemistry Consortium and co-founder of the Flow Chemistry Society, where he is the Chairman.

Richard Jones, Chief Executive Officer and Founder

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is richard_jones.jpg

Richard is the CEO and co-founder of ThalesNano Energy Inc, as well as the CEO of InnoStudio, a scientific incubator company. Before this, Richard was CEO of ThalesNano where he completely overhauled the product line, doubling the number of new instruments and greatly extending the number of countries ThalesNano sells into.

He joined ThalesNano in 2004 where he started as Chief Research Chemist, helping to develop the chemistry on the H-Cube® and other flow reactors. He then went on to become Product Manager of the R&D 100 Award winning H-Cube® before becoming Director of Product Management.

Prior to ThalesNano, Richard was at Biofocus Discovery and worked on the synthesis of several Kinase and GPCR inhibitor based compound libraries. Richard studied chemistry at the University of Bristol where he graduated with honors in 1999. He has over 20 scientific papers, books, and patents specializing in flow chemistry to his name.

Dr. Csaba Janáky, Chief Scientific Advisor

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is csaba_jan-ky.png

Dr. Csaba Janáky is an Associate Professor at Department of Physical Chemistry and Materials Science, University of Szeged, Hungary. He is the principal investigator of the MTA-SZTE „Momentum” Photoelectrochemistry Research Group, supported by the Hungarian Academy of Sciences and the European Research Council (ERC-Starting Grant). Csaba is also responsible for Green Economy and Climate Policy at the university. He is an emerging expert of materials science oriented electrochemistry and photoelectrochemistry. He has developed new electrode materials for energy applications, such as CO2 reduction, water oxidation, O2- reduction, and H2 evolution. He has published over 75 articles in peer-reviewed journals including four review-, two perspective, and one viewpoint article, with an overall impact factor of 430. He is member of the Editorial Advisory Board of ACS Energy Letters (a premier scientific journal of energy research), and the Young Academy of Europe.

Antal Danyi, Development Director

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is danyi_antal.png

Antal joined ThalesNano in 2017 to lead the newly formed development team of the Energy Division at the Szeged site. Prior to ThalesNano, Antal led the Technical Department at ContiTech where the full responsibility for tailor made products was on his shoulders. Antal was employed in different product R&D positions immediately after finishing his MSC degree of Mechanical Engineering at the faculty of Fluid Dynamics and Applied Mechanics at Budapest University of Technology and Economics.